Who to Fangirl – Kyle McMorrow

I never said I was any good at taking photos, did I? I tried to take a photo of the celebration after Kyle McMorrow won a tight tiebreak and a win over Cal, but I was a bit late. I think he is still being hugged, somewhere in that photo.

Anyway, were you expecting me to continue on with the “Who to Fangirl” series without picking an athlete I have actually seen in person? Most athletes I have never seen in person and will never see in person, but it’s extra special when I can write about someone I have actually seen in person. I feel more confident that I have seen them in their element without the cloudiness of someone else’s commentary. Though I suppose rooting for a home team player is sort of letting biases of “rooting for the home team” sink in, but it’s not like I’m saying everyone should support UW tennis and that it is the best ever. I just happen to like one, two, three, the whole team pretty much. I didn’t a few years ago.

Here’s a better picture of Kyle.

(from gohuskies.com)

Kyle is currently a sophomore at UW. He grew up in Washington but moved to California and did much of his tennis skill honing down there. He played a lot of guys there and was UW’s top recruit. He played mostly #2 singles last year like he does this year, and could easily play #1 at many other top schools, but UW has a very good #1 player. I can’t see why Kyle can’t play #1 next year for the entire season.

Kyle’s game is all about using a variety of shots and running every shot down. I didn’t watch him at all last year but this year I have seen him 4 times now. So many college players have really only one major weapon and Kyle has both a great use of his backhand and wheels for feet. He played really well both against Ryan Thacher (had an off day) and Carlos Cueto (cramped at the end but was playing well despite it). He doesn’t exactly wait for the error, but his variety especially on the backhand can draw some of them out. He’s also good for a pass. I think clinching the win in such a huge Pac-10 match bodes well for next season. He saved so many match points too. I really earned so much respect for him at that point. I had seen scores, not matches, where it looked like Kyle was just dominated (though to be fair, UVA plays Domijian at #1 now and he is ranked #2 in the country) and he had instances where it looked like he might be a “choker” such as all the errors on forehand when trying to beat Wernet of Minnesota. But as I already said, this weekend has really sealed the deal for me. I like his game, I like his energy, and now I like his ability to stand up under pressure.

And now I provide you with a few links, because I actually haven’t talked to Kyle directly in my life so I can’t tell you anything you can’t find off the internet.

http://www.gohuskies.com/sports/m-tennis/mtt/mcmorrow_kyle00.html# – profile at gohuskies.com

http://www.vcstar.com/news/2008/jun/26/singular-purpose/ – article about McMorrow while a junior at Thousand Oaks

http://www.gohuskies.com/sports/m-tennis/spec-rel/111208aaa.html – article about McMorrow coming to UW

http://www.vcstar.com/news/2010/apr/22/for-one-freshman-the-ojai-is-special/ – article about McMorrow going home and his connection to the Pac-10 tournament

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CCZnqNO03OY -YouTube video where McMorrow discusses the wins over Minnesota and Saint Mary’s

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment