This is no April Fools’

According to this link http://www.pepperdinesports.com/genrel/033111aaa.html, Pepperdine is going to withdraw from postseason play in men’s tennis, volleyball, and baseball. I found this out via the forums at Volleytalk and while Pepperdine isn’t ripping it up in the MPSF for volleyball, it is certainly a very, very good tennis team.

I really suck at understanding all these rules but it appears that Pepperdine has not quite withdrawn from NCAA Championships, just the WCC championships. Either way, I’m rather sad for these guys since it’s obviously not the athletes’ fault that their school screwed up their accounting. But I can understand why the program is punished despite how it affects the kids. If you were working at a large company and the CEO of the company decided to mess around, you get screwed over by losing your job and/or money in company stock. I just wish there was some way those people who majorly screw up at the top could really pay back the people they hurt besides just going to jail or paying some measly fine…

Anyway tomorrow is not only April Fool’s Day (in the U.S. at least) but also a Friday, which means college tennis and college volleyball galore! I am hoping for the best for my current favorite college tennis player Henrique Cunha as he and his teammates take on Virginia. (I have to admit that I watched Reid Carleton’s senior profile because I knew Cunha would be in it for a bit…) Also on Big 10 network there is men’s college gymnastics and on ESPN2 there is men’s professional tennis live from the Sony Ericsson Open. So this Friday will have a lot of TV and knitting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment